Skip to content

Riot Ends Coinbase Credit Facility and Releases Bitcoin Collateral

Riot Platforms has closed a secured borrowing arrangement with Coinbase Credit after paying the outstanding principal and accrued interest. A Form 8-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission says the bitcoin miner completed the voluntary prepayment on September 21, 2026.

The filing does not give the balance immediately before repayment or identify the source of the repayment funds. It does establish that Riot satisfied its obligations under the agreement, ended the lender’s commitment to make additional loans and obtained the release of the related security interests. Riot reported the event under Item 1.02, which covers termination of a material definitive agreement.

What Riot terminated

The agreement was a multiple draw-down secured term-loan facility with an aggregate principal capacity of up to $200 million. Coinbase Credit acted as lender, collateral agent and administrative agent. Riot had pledged financial assets held with Coinbase Custody Trust Company, including bitcoin, USDC and cash.

“Up to $200 million” describes the facility’s maximum size, not necessarily the amount outstanding on the repayment date. The current filing says all outstanding principal was paid, but it does not state that the entire capacity had been drawn. That limit matters when reading the transaction as a debt event rather than a $200 million cash payment confirmed by the filing.

Riot also paid accrued and unpaid interest through September 21. No early termination fee or penalty applied. The company explained that the repayment date fell after the four-month anniversary of the original maturity date, which made the day-count fraction used for that fee zero under the agreement.

What changed for the collateral

Once the payment was completed, the credit agreement terminated and Coinbase Credit’s commitment to provide further loans ended. The security interests granted under the collateral documents were released at the same time.

The filing names bitcoin, USDC and cash as asset types covered by the pledge, but it does not disclose the amount of each asset released. It also does not report a bitcoin sale, a change in Riot’s total bitcoin holdings or a new financing arrangement. Those questions would require separate company disclosures rather than assumptions based on the termination alone.

Why the filing language matters

Bitcoin-backed borrowing lets a company obtain liquidity while putting digital assets at risk as collateral. Repayment removes the lender’s security interest, but the economic effect depends on information outside this Form 8-K: how much debt was outstanding, how the payment was funded and what Riot does with the released assets.

The filing is therefore precise but limited. It confirms a completed repayment and release of collateral, not the size of Riot’s current unrestricted treasury. Investors comparing the event with future balance-sheet reports should separate the facility’s stated ceiling from its actual draw and distinguish pledged asset categories from disclosed quantities.

Adapted from Riot Platforms Repays $200 Million Coinbase Bitcoin-Backed Credit Facility.